The Balance Mystique

image

“My point is, life is about balance. The good and the bad. The highs and the lows. The pina and the colada.”
― Ellen DeGeneres, Seriously…I’m Kidding

A balanced diet. A balance of work and play. “Find your balance,” my yoga teacher says. Everything in moderation. Kids need a balance of school, play, activities, and eight hours of sleep.

Lets get real! A balanced life is a momentary experience that happens once on a Tuesday afternoon when all the stars are aligned, the workout got in, the foods were all whole grain, the children were all bathed, a full night sleep was had by all, every phone call was answered, and all accounts were paid in full. Do you remember that day?

I don’t. Why? Because it never happened!! It’s a mystic. It’s a facade. It’s not real. Balance is an ideal that can never be obtained, only striven for.

Some days I am closer to the center of a balanced life. I feel closer to it, when I have read “Mrs. Piggle Wiggle” to my children at night, without falling asleep before they do. I know it when I have more laundry in the drawer than on the dresser. I know it when I haven’t forgotten a meeting or my phone at the restaurant, or to close the back of my car after buying pumpkins.

Do you know what happens to large pumpkins that roll out of back of trucks?

I know it when I can laugh at myself and give myself and others a break.

I know it when I act out of grace and not out of judgment.

I know it when I care more about serving than about getting.

Gotta run. I’m late for yoga and the dog just ate a Lego.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

