Diving In! Devotional

http://youtu.be/hXqXIicm8uU

image

DIVE, Stephen Curtis Chapman

Songwriters: Cobain, Kurt / Novoselic, Krist
The long awaited rains
Have fallen hard upon the thirsty ground
And carved their way to where
The wild and rushing river can be found
And like the rains
I have been carried here to where the river flows yeah
My heart is racing and my knees are weak
As I walk to the edge
I know there is no turning back
Once my feet have left the ledge
And in the rush I hear a voice
That’s telling me it’s time to take the leap of faith
So here I go

I’m diving in I’m going deep in over my head I want to be
Caught in the rush lost in the flow in over my head I want to go
The river’s deep the river’s wide the river’s water is alive
So sink or swim I’m diving in

There is a supernatural power
In this mighty river’s flow
It can bring the dead to life
And it can fill an empty soul
And give a heart the only thing
Worth living and worth dying for yeah
But we will never know the awesome power
Of the grace of god
Until we let ourselves get swept away
Into this holy flood
So if you’ll take my hand
We’ll close our eyes and count to three
And take the leap of faith
Come on let’s go
Steven Curtis Chapman
‘Dive’

image

I always blared this song as my kids came in to Youth Group on Sunday nights. They tolerated it well, knowing that I loved this song.

What does it take to take a leap of faith? How many nets have to be underneath you before you jump?

My diving experience has been that first you must have people behind you who believe you can make the jump. They cannot push you off, or tell you when to jump, but they have to believe you can do it.

Second, there needs to be a measure of risk. It has to be scary or it’s not a leap of faith. Have you ever noticed how related faith and fear are to each other? “Fear The Lord” the Bible tells us. Not fear in a horror movie sort of way, but fear in a awe-inspiring sort of way. Fear in a “Lord oh Lord how majestic is your name in all the earth” sort of way.

image
Third, you cannot dive in without being will to change. Once you jump, you will never be the same. “In a twinkling of an eye.” “Transformation is something I cannot explain – too much analysis might destroy it.” – Sophia Loren

image

Fourth, to take a leap of faith, requires movement. Standing still, talking about it, analyzing it, does not mean you are doing it. “Fear less, hope more, eat less, chew more, whine less, breathe more, talk less, say more, hate less, love more, and good things will be yours.” – Swedish Proverb

Lastly, when you jump… and you WILL jump….Trust and know you are not jumping into a great abyss. You are leaping into the arms of One who has great plans for you.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”
Jeremiah 29:11

So, come on, let’s go!

image

http://youtu.be/hXqXIicm8uU

Leave a Reply

