Perspective

imageSometimes I can get crabby. My car breaks down, another snow storm comes, another child has to visit to Urgent Care, my insurance coverage might change, folks don’t like being Presbyterian anymore, etc, etc. It is all things that are out of my control that can drive me to a level of melancholy and angst.

My confession is that, while these things are all anxiety provoking and important they are also things that keep my eyes off Jesus. It’s like Jesus is preaching the Sermon on the Mount, and I’m missing his lecture, because I’m on the other side of the mountain, sending one more email, trying to figure out how to make everything better. How to be in control.

This was my devotional this morning and it jarred me back to what Jesus sees every day compared to what I see. I was humbly reminded to keep things in perspective. I can’t afford to miss his sermon today. I can’t afford to not sit at his feet and be a listener today. I can’t afford to not be reminded that I am accountable to him. There is too much at stake.

I don’t know about you, but I need to have the courage to see the world through the perspective of Jesus.

How Will We Respond?

Murphy Davis


More than 30,000 children are dying of hunger today–are we crying out for them? They are under attack–are we angry? Have we met them in our prayers? Have we offered food to anyone who is hungry today? Or did we put it off because we were scheduled to go to a spirituality conference? Or because we were in a meeting talking about Christian unity? … When our prayer and our action are both rooted in the compassionate heart of God and the grief of the earth and her children, then we are promised that we will bear the fruit of liberation, the flower of courage.
Source: Hospitality Sept. 2008

One thought on “Perspective

Leave a Reply

