Friendship

image“A friend is more than a therapist or confessor, even though a friend can sometimes heal us and offer us God’s forgiveness. A friend is that other person with whom we can share our solitude, our silence, and our prayer. A friend is that other person with whom we can look at a tree and say, “Isn’t that beautiful,” or sit on the beach and silently watch the sun disappear under the horizon. With a friend we don’t have to say or do something special. With a friend we can be still and know that God is there with both of us.”
― Henri J.M. Nouwen

I have been thinking a lot about friendship lately. As I think on my friends, those from the past and those in the present, I well up with gratitude for the gift and privilege of walking the journey with them. I grieve that for some the journey has ended and we have parted ways. And while our lives have taken different roads, I still love them. I am awestruck by those friends that I have walked beside for decades. Our friendship is as familiar and comforting as a warm house on a bitter day. I fill up with emotions as I think about my sisters, who know me better and love me still.

A friend of mine said the other day, “sometimes I think I love and give more than my friends are able to receive, and that’s o.k.” Indeed it is.

Nobody says it better than James Taylor…..
http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=9SxToTUoWGM&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D9SxToTUoWGM

One thought on “Friendship

Leave a Reply

